the general terms and conditions

Terms and Conditions of Auction

By taking part in an auction in person, over the telephone or in writing, you accept and agree to be bound to the following Terms and Conditions. This applies also to bids submitted by fax or e-mail and to live bidding on the internet.

1. Auctions are voluntary or prescribed by law (auction of pledged property). They are held by Auktionshaus Rütten GmbH (“Auction House”) on the seller’s name and for his account (agent). Every seller will be given a number. Thus, the consignment list shows what items have been submitted by the different sellers.

2. Descriptions are made to the best of our knowledge and belief and are largely based on information provided by the consignors. The objects to be auctioned are second-hand. The property for sale is offered “as is”, i. e. in its physical condition at the time of the knock-down. Catalogue descriptions are no guarantee of or agreement on the condition of the property. This applies also to additional information and descriptions of the condition of the objects put up for auction. The Auction House reserves the right to correct in the auction any information provided in the catalogue. All the property to be auctioned may be inspected and examined in the premises of the Auction House during pre-auction viewing.

The Auction House is not subject to any warranty obligation. Notices of defects filed in due course will be passed on to the consignor. Patent defects must be notified within four weeks, hidden defects within one year. In the event of a reversed transaction, the auctioneer’s claim for surcharge shall remain unchanged.

3. Damage to objects put up for auction will only be mentioned in the catalogue if such damage, at the discretion of the Auction House, clearly impairs their appearance. If no mention has been made in the catalogue of repair, replenishment or other measures relating to works of art, nor of restoration, damage, etc., this shall not mean that the work of art concerned is in perfect condition. Illustrations in the catalogue, inserts and pictures on the internet shall not be binding.

4. The catalogue number specified by the bidder rather than the description or illustration in the catalogue shall be decisive for any bid.

5. As a rule, lots are put up for sale at the price indicated in the catalogue. If no price is specified, the auctioneer will begin with an estimated standard price or a price based on submitted bids. The increments are chosen at the auctioneer’s discretion. Bids can be made in the auction room, in writing prior to the auction (order to bid) or over the telephone, but they cannot be revoked according to the statutory provisions on distance contracts. Lots will be knocked down after the highest bid has been repeated three times, when no higher bid is placed and when the reserve price set by the seller has been reached. The Auction House cannot guarantee the establishment and maintenance of telecommunication connections. The auctioneer reserves the right to combine, separate or withdraw catalogue numbers or to call them out of their numerical order.

6. The auctioneer is entitled to refuse any bid without giving reasons. In this case, the previous bid shall be binding. In the event of identical bids, the earliest received will take precedence. When there is disagreement, the auctioneer may at his sole discretion immediately repeat the knock-down of a bid or once again put the lot concerned up for sale. No bidder can make a claim for acceptance of his bid. After a lot has been knocked down, the bidder is responsible for collecting it and paying for it. The buyer assumes the risk of loss, damage, confusion, etc. Every bidder buys in his own name and for own account.

7. Knock-downs may be subject to reservation. In this case, the bid shall be binding on the bidder for four weeks. Any knock-down subject to reservation will immediately become ineffective, if a higher bid is received during or after the auction or a bid is made at the reserve price. The first bidder will not be consulted or informed.

8. Surcharge. Any lot is knocked down at its net price. A 20-percent surcharge is added to the hammer price together with VAT (currently at a rate of 19 percent) levied on the surcharge only (total surcharge : 23.8 percent). Since the VAT is levied only on the surcharge, which constitutes a domestic payment, there will be no refund if the buyer exports the object concerned. Buyers resident in an EU member state and having a VAT ID number are an exception to this rule.

9. The total amount (hammer price plus surcharge plus VAT) shall be due for payment in cash. Non-cash means of payment are only accepted as conditional payment. Payment with EC card will only be accepted with the PIN number. Cheques have to be vouched by a bank or must be Landeszentralbank cheques.

In case of written, telephone or internet bids, payment shall be due within three days from the date of the auction. Buyers are in default from ten days after date of invoice. Payment of € 15 will be due for each monitory letter. Interest payable on arrears will be 10 percent p. a. from due date. The buyer will only be entitled to set up counterclaims that are undisputed or legally valid.

10. Compensation claims due to violation of contractual obligations and tortuous acts against the auctioneer are limited to wilful intent and gross negligence. This does not include acts damaging life, body and health nor violation of essential contractual obligations (obligations resulting from the nature of this contract, whose violation jeopardizes its objective) and damage caused by default. Liability in case of violation of essential contractual obligations is restricted to predictable loss therefrom. If liability for ordinary negligence has not been ruled out, such compensation claims expire one year after their origin.

11. Except as otherwise provided by law, the place of fulfilment and payment and the place of jurisdiction shall be our commercial domicile.

12. The ownership of a lot shall not pass to the buyer and the sold property shall not be made available to him until he has paid the amount due.

Storage, packaging, transport and delivery shall be at the expense and risk of the successful bidder. Goods are sent by mail as insured parcel. Any damage has to be adjusted with the postal authorities.

Delivery costs such as postage and packing expenses shall be borne by the buyer. The auctioneer is under no obligation to dispatch the goods.

If the buyer fails to pay for and collect the goods within ten days after date of the invoice, the auctioneer is entitled to have the goods stored at the buyer’s expense.

13. In the event that the buyer refuses to pay for the goods or to collect them, the buyer shall lose the right derived from the acceptance of his bid, and the item concerned can be put up for auction once again at the buyer’s expense. In this case, the buyer will be liable for loss incurred and shall not be entitled to receive surplus proceeds. Any further bids of the buyer will not be accepted. The auctioneer shall have the right to take legal proceedings for the recovery of the amounts due, in his own name and for the seller’s account.

14. Sale by private contract: The above conditions shall apply analogously to sale by private contract.

15. Auction of objects from the Third Reich: Whenever objects from the Third Reich are put up for sale by the Auction House, this will be done exclusively for purposes of civil education, to provide protection against unconstitutional activities, to promote art or science, research or teaching, to furnish information about present time occurrences or about events in history or for similar purposes.

16. Relevant statements and declarations from the seller to the auctioneer or to third parties must be made in writing.

17. Except as otherwise provided by law, the place of fulfilment and payment and the place of jurisdiction shall be our commercial domicile.

18. In the event that the buyer is a businessman or if he has no general place of jurisdiction in Germany or in another EU member state, our commercial domicile shall be the exclusive venue for the settlement of disputes arising out of this contract.

19. German law shall apply, unless special consumer protection provisions in the EU member state where the seller resides, are more favourable. The United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods shall not apply.

20. The acceptance of any terms and conditions to the contrary or of the seller’s deviating terms will be subject to previous written approval by the Auction House. Our Terms and Conditions of Auction shall remain effective, notwithstanding any services rendered or received by the Auction House without reservations, although we have been aware of the seller’s terms and conditions to the contrary or of his deviating terms.

Auktionshaus Rütten GmbH

Elke Rütten-Torma

-Geschäftsführerin-

Auktionshaus Rütten GmbH © 2020
powered by AuctioNovo GmbH

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen

Versteigerungsbedingungen AGB.


Mit der persönlichen, telefonischen oder schriftlichen Teilnahme an der Auktion werden nachstehende Bedingungen anerkannt. Dies gilt auch für Gebote per Fax, E-Mail oder im Live-Bieten- Service per Internet.


1. Die Versteigerung erfolgt freiwillig oder aufgrund gesetzlicher Vorschrift (Pfandversteigerungen). Sie wird vom der Auktionshaus Rütten GmbH („Auktionshaus“) in fremdem Namen und für fremde Rechnung durchgeführt (Agent). Jeder Auftraggeber bekommt eine Nummer, so dass aus dem Einlieferungsverzeichnis zu erkennen ist, welche Gegenstände von welchem Auftraggeber eingeliefert wurde.


2. Die Katalogbeschreibungen werden nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen vorgenommen. Sie beruhen zum größten Teil auf Angaben der Einlieferer. Die Gegenstände sind gebraucht. Alle Gegenstände werden in dem Zustand versteigert, in dem sie sich im Augenblick des Zuschlages befinden. Katalogbeschreibungen stellen keine Garantien oder Beschaffenheitsvereinbarungen dar. Dies gilt auch für ergänzende Informationen und Zustandsbeschreibungen. Es bleibt vorbehalten, Katalogangaben in der Auktion zu berichtigen. Sämtliche zur Versteigerung gelangenden Gegenstände können vor der Auktion in den Räumlichkeiten des Auktionshauses während der Vorbesichtigungszeiten besichtigt und geprüft werden. Das Auktionshaus trifft keine kaufrechtliche Gewährleistungspflicht. Rechtzeitig vorgetragene Mängelrügen werden dem Einlieferer übermittelt, wobei offensichtliche Mängel innerhalb von vier Wochen, nicht offensichtliche Mängel innerhalb eines Jahres gerügt werden müssen. Kommt es zu einer Rückabwicklung, so behält der Versteigerer dennoch seinen Anspruch auf das Aufgeld.


3. Beschädigungen finden im Auktionskatalog nur Erwähnung, wenn sie nach unserer Einschätzung den optischen Gesamteindruck des Kunstwerkes deutlich beeinträchtigen. Insoweit ergibt sich aus fehlenden Hinweisen auf Reparaturen, Ergänzungen oder sonstige Maßnahmen am Kunstwerk, Restaurierungen, Beschädigungen etc. nicht, dass sich das Kunstwerk in einem perfekten Zustand befindet. Katalogabbildungen, Bildeinblendungen oder Internetabbildungen sind nicht verbindlich.


4. Maßgeblich ist bei Geboten jeder Art immer die im Gebot genannte Katalognummer, nicht der Text oder Abbildungen.


5. Der Aufruf beginnt in der Regel zu dem im Katalog ausgedruckten Preis. Ist kein Preis angegeben (o.L.), beginnt der Ausruf mit dem vom Versteigerer geschätzten Richtpreis oder dem Preis, der sich aus vorliegenden Geboten ergibt. Die Steigerungsstufen werden vom Versteigerer vorgegeben. Gebote können im Versteigerungssaal, schriftlich vor der Auktion (Vorgebot = Bietauftrag) oder telefonisch abgegeben werden. Gebote können nicht nach dem Recht für Fernabsatzverträge widerrufen werden. Der Zuschlag wird erteilt, wenn nach dreimaligem Wiederholen des höchsten Gebotes ein Übergebot nicht abgegeben wird und der mit dem Auftraggeber vereinbarte Limitpreis erreicht ist. Das Auktionshaus übernimmt keine Gewähr für das Zustandekommen oder die Aufrechterhaltung von Telekommunikationsverbindungen. Der Versteigerer behält sich das Recht vor, Nummern des Katalogs zu vereinen, zu trennen, außerhalb der Reihenfolge anzubieten oder zurückzuziehen.


6. Der Versteigerer kann ein Gebot ohne Angabe von Gründen ablehnen; in diesem Fall bleibt das unmittelbar vorher abgegebene Gebot verbindlich. Geben mehrere Personen das gleiche Gebot ab, so erhält das zuerst abgegebene Gebot den Zuschlag. Besteht Uneinigkeit über einen Zuschlag so kann der Versteigerer nach freiem Ermessen den Zuschlag sofort zugunsten eines bestimmten Bieters wiederholen oder den Gegenstand nochmals aufrufen. Ein Anspruch auf Zuschlagserteilung besteht nicht. Der Zuschlag verpflichtet zur Abnahme und zur Zahlung. Mit ihm geht die Gefahr für etwaige Verluste, Beschädigungen und Verwechslungen usw. auf den Käufer über. Jeder Bieter kauft im eigenen Namen und auf eigene Rechnung.


7. Ein Zuschlag kann auch unter Vorbehalt erfolgen. In diesem Fall ist der Bieter vier Wochen an sein Gebot gebunden. Ein Vorbehaltszuschlag wird sofort unwirksam, wenn während oder nach der Auktion ein Bieter ein höheres Angebot macht oder das Limit bietet. Eine Rückfrage oder Benachrichtigung beim Erstbieter erfolgt nicht.


8. Aufgeld. Das zugeschlagene Gebot ist der Nettopreis. Auf diesen Zuschlagspreis wird ein Aufgeld von 20 % zuzüglich der gesetzlichen MWSt. von zur Zeit 19 % nur auf das Aufgeld erhoben. (= 23,8% Gesamtaufgeld).


9. Der gesamte vom Käufer zu entrichtende Betrag (Zuschlagspreis und Aufgeld und Mehrwertsteuer) ist in bar geschuldet. Unbare Zahlungen werden nur erfüllungshalber angenommen. Zahlungen mit der EC-Karte können nur mit Geheimzahl angenommen werden. Schecks müssen bankbestätigt oder LZB-Schecks sein.
Beim Erwerb durch schriftlich oder telefonisch oder per Internet erteilten Auftrag ist die Gegenleistung innerhalb von 3 Tagen nach Auktionsdatum zu erbringen. Zahlungsverzug tritt spätestens 10 Tage nach Rechnungsdatum ein. Jede Mahnung wird dem Käufer mit einer Pauschale von € 15,-- pro Schreiben berechnet. Verspätete Zahlungen sind mit 10 % p.a. ab Fälligkeit zu verzinsen. Eine Aufrechnung mit Gegenforderungen ist dem Käufer nur gestattet, wenn diese unbestritten oder rechtskräftig festgestellt sind.


10. Ansprüche auf Schadensersatz wegen vertraglicher Pflichtverletzungen sowie aus Delikt gegen den Versteigerer sind auf Vorsatz und grobe Fahrlässigkeit beschränkt. Dies gilt nicht bei Verletzung von Leben, Körper und Gesundheit, ebenso nicht bei der Verletzung von Kardinalpflichten (Pflichten, die sich aus der Natur des Vertrages ergeben und deren Verletzung die Erreichung des Vertragszweckes gefährdet) und Verzugsschäden. Die Haftung im Fall der Verletzung von wesentlichen Vertragspflichten wird auf den regelmäßig vorhersehbaren Schaden begrenzt. Soweit eine Haftung für Schäden für leichte Fahrlässigkeit nicht ausgeschlossen ist verjähren derartige Ansprüche innerhalb eines Jahres beginnend mit der Entstehung des Anspruchs.


11. Soweit sich aus dem Gesetz nichts anderes ergibt ist Erfüllungs- und Zahlungsort unser Geschäftssitz.


12. Das Eigentum geht erst nach erfolgter Bezahlung auf den Käufer über, das Auktionsgut wird erst danach ausgeliefert.
Lagerung, Verpackung, Transport und Versand erfolgen ausnahmslos auf Kosten und Gefahr im gesonderten Auftrag des Ersteigerers. Postsendungen erfolgen versichert als Paket; eventuelle Versandschäden sind ausschließlich bei der Post geltend zu machen. Versandkosten sind für Porto und Verpackungsaufwand zu entrichten. Zur Versendung ist der Versteigerer nicht verpflichtet. Der Versteigerer ist berechtigt, Ware die nicht innerhalb von 10 Tagen nach der Rechnungsausstellung bezahlt und abgeholt wird auf Kosten des Käufers einlagern zu lassen.


13. Verweigert der Käufer die Zahlung oder die Abnahme, so verliert er seine Rechte aus dem Zuschlag und der Gegenstand kann auf seine Kosten nochmals versteigert werden. In diesem Falle haftet der Käufer für den Schaden, dagegen hat er auf einen Mehrerlös keinen Anspruch und wird zu weiteren Geboten nicht zugelassen. Der Versteigerer kann auch die Forderung im eigenen Namen und für Rechnung des Auftraggebers einklagen.


14. Freihändiger Verkauf. Die vorstehenden Bedingungen gelten entsprechend auch für den freihändigen Verkauf.


15. Versteigerung von Objekten des Dritten Reichs. Sofern das Auktionshaus Objekte des Dritten Reichs versteigert, erfolgt dies allein zu Zwecken der staatsbürgerlichen Aufklärung, der Abwehr verfassungswidriger Bestrebungen, der Kunst oder Wissenschaft, der Forschung oder der Lehre, der Berichterstattung über Vorgänge des Zeitgeschehens oder der Geschichte oder zu ähnlichen Zwecken.


16. Rechtserhebliche Erklärungen und Anzeigen, die der Kunde gegenüber dem Versteigerer oder Dritten abzugeben hat, bedürfen der Schriftform.


17. Soweit sich aus dem Gesetz nicht anderes ergibt ist Erfüllungs- und Zahlungsort unser Geschäftssitz.


18. Ist der Käufer Kaufmann oder hat er keinen allgemeinen Gerichtsstand im Inland oder einem anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaat, so ist ausschließlicher Gerichtsstand für alle Streitigkeiten aus diesem Vertrag unser Geschäftssitz.


19. Es gilt deutsches Recht, soweit nicht spezielle Verbraucherschutzvorschriften im EU-Heimatland des Kunden günstiger sind. Das UN-Abkommen über Verträge des internationalen Warenkaufs findet keine Anwendung.


20. Entgegenstehende oder abweichende Bedingungen des Kunden erkennen wir nicht an, es sei denn wir haben der Geltung schriftlich ausdrücklich zugestimmt. Unsere Versteigerungsbedingungen gelten auch dann, wenn wir in Kenntnis entgegenstehender oder abweichender Bedingungen des Kunden Leistungen vorbehaltlos erbringen oder entgegen nehmen.



Auktionshaus Rütten GmbH

Elke Rütten-Torma
Geschäftsführerin & Auktionatorin

Auktionshaus Rütten GmbH © 2018
powered by AuctioNovo GmbH